Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Old School



My Old School, originally uploaded by Clayton Perry Photoworks.

I was driving through my old neighbourhood today and I came upon this scene. I knew my old school was coming down but I wasn’t sure when. I had heard they did an open house a couple of months ago. A chance for former students to see the old school one last time while they also were able to tour the new school which is basically being built in the back field behind the old school. Had some great memories in that school…met some great people…sad to see it go.

A little history:

Samuel Brighouse Elementary School was built in 1965 to serve the people of Brighouse Estates.

Samuel Brighouse (1836-1911) is one of the most recognizable names in the municipality. Sometimes Richmond’s, the downtown is referred to as Brighouse.
In 1864, when he returned from the Cariboo Gold Rush, he purchased 697 acres of land of what is now known as the downtown core of Richmond. Here he raised thoroughbred horses and grazed cattle. Richmond’s City Hall, Minoru Park, Lansdowne Mall and the Richmond Centre Shopping Mall are all built on land he once owned. He was one of the petitioners for the incorporation of Richmond as a municipality and he served on city council in 1883.

Samuel Brighouse Elementary School Project
Perkins + Will Design

Leave a Reply

